WordPress Statistics for 2014

Yesterday, it seems, all WordPress bloggers received their statistics for 2014 for each of their blogs. As I have 3 blogs, I received 3 reports and all were just as I would have expected.

My 3 blogs are:
1. Indonesian Teacher Reflections – my professional journal
2. PEPS Indonesian Allstars – My class blog
3. Jalan Jalan With Bu Cathy – My 2013 Indonesian travel journal

Of my 3 blogs, the one I posted to most often this year was without doubt my professional blog. I thoroughly enjoy writing about what I have been doing in my classroom and hope that other Indonesian teachers will also be inspired to blog their teaching journeys. It’s the perfect way to keep a digital portfolio.
Here are the posts which received the most views:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a1e/48203868/files/2014/12/img_9366.png Great to see that 2 of my posts about TPRS pedagogy made the top 5!!
The traffic for my professional blog comes largely from Australia, USA and Indonesia

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a1e/48203868/files/2014/12/img_9368.png which is exactly the same as my travel blog, however in reverse order. With my professional blog, I experimented with one of the ‘publicize’ (sic) options to utilise Twitter, so look out for that if you too are on Twitter!

Needless to say, my third and final blog was one I didn’t post to at all this year, yet it still received a steady stream of traffic in 2014. Interesting to see which posts are still popular 12 months on:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a1e/48203868/files/2014/12/img_9358.png
It was while scrolling through this report that I first saw the option to ‘publicize’, so I curiously followed it and this is where it took me:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a1e/48203868/files/2014/12/img_9370.png I am pretty sure at this point, I stopped. I am confident that I didn’t tap any buttons. So, I have no idea why suddenly my stats last night skyrocketed. It was so extraordinary that WordPress sent me a congratulatory notification! Have a look at yesterdays activity:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a1e/48203868/files/2014/12/img_9374.png
The following is the data outlining the origin of the traffic:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a1e/48203868/files/2014/12/img_9364.png I am still puzzled and look forward to learning about why my views spiked so dramatically yesterday. Did anyone else experience anything odd after viewing their statistical data?

3 thoughts on “WordPress Statistics for 2014

    • I had another look yesterday and noticed that the posts that had caused the spike were the ones about Pangkalan Bun! So what I gather, is that with the news about the victims of the AirAsia crash being taken to Pangkalan Bun, which is where the closest airport is, people are suddenly searchng for any recent information about Pangkalan Bun! Do you agree?

      Like

Leave a Reply

